top of page
  • inibofovprox

Windows 10 1709 Serial Key: The Ultimate Solution for Windows 10 Activation Issues



Downgrading from any edition of Windows 10 to Windows 7, 8, or 8.1 by entering a different product key isn't supported. You also can't downgrade from a later version to an earlier version of the same edition (Ex: Windows 10 Pro 1709 to 1703) unless the rollback process is used. This article doesn't discuss version downgrades.


Windows 10, version 1709 added support for Windows 10 subscription activation, similar to the CSP support but for large enterprises. This feature enabled the use of Azure AD for assigning licenses to users. When users sign in to a device that's joined to Active Directory or Azure AD, it automatically steps up from Windows 10 Pro to Windows 10 Enterprise.




Windows 10 1709 Serial Key




This update includes reliability improvements to Windows Update Service components in all editions of Windows 10, version 1507, 1511, 1607, 1703, 1709, 1803, 1809, 1903, 1909, 2004, 20H2, 21H1, 21H2, and Windows 11, version 21H2, 22H2. It may take steps to free up disk space on your device if you do not have enough disk space to install Windows updates.


I have windows 10, seems that windows 10 pro for workstations was downloaded and I was charged $309.00 to my account without my authorization and I need a refund. Why did MS do that? I have not installed yet as I do not want the program.


This post is designed to walk through installing and configuring Microsoft Deployment Toolkit to build a reference image of Windows 10 1709 (better known as the Fall Creators Update) using a Hyper-V Virtual Machine. Some useful links before we get started:


Microsoft Office is now set up to be installed silently by a Task Sequence. If you wish to customise the installation to a greater degree, the Office Customization Tool can be launched from the Office Products tab. This process can also be done for Microsoft Visio and Project applications. We need to now create the Task Sequence that will create our reference image of Windows 10 1709.


Start the VM and it should boot from the LiteTouchPE_x64.iso into the deployment environment. You should be presented with a wizard and the name of the Task Sequence you created earlier. Select it and click Next. The Task Sequence will now run, install Windows 10 1709, update from the WSUS server, install Microsoft Office applications (if you added them) and then run Windows Update from the WSUS server again to update the Office apps, run SysPrep and the reboot back into the MDT environment and capture the image. When this process completes the VM will be shutdown and a file named W10-1709_YEAR_MONTH_DAY_HOUR_MINUTE.wim will be in \\SERVERNAME\BuildShare$\Captures.


You now have a functioning Microsoft Deployment Toolkit server, with a Deployment Share specifically configured for building reference images, and a Task Sequence to build and capture a Windows 10 1709 reference image.


Background: Below is a detailed list of the environment/configuration that was implemented and working correctly to register the windows 10 client node (version: 1511) before updating the client to version 1709. The pull server and its certificate has been recreated using the below configurations to keep the configurations as simple as possible to prove the issue.


The pull server has a self-signed certificate installed (which I suspect the problem is with new certificate regulations implemented in the 1709 update) using this Microsoft script titled: "New-SelfSignedCertificateEx.ps1"


Now before I updated the pull client to windows 10 version 1709 all of the above code worked and the client was able to register with the pull server. However after applying the windows update the client no longer registers with the pull server.


Has Microsoft stopped supporting self-signed certificates for the pull server? Maybe there is a new group policy setting that allows the new windows version (1709) to accept a self-signed certificates. Either way my resource have been exhausted. This issue is easy to recreate using the above configurations on the mentions OS/Versions. Any insight on how to further debug/fix this issue would be greatly appreciated.


After posting this question on Powershell.org/forums it was quickly answered by Don Jones. It turns out using a self-signed certificate for your pull server to have a "fake" secure test environment is now locked down by windows and no longer supported. This is to prevent developers from accidentally using it in a production environment.


Windows 10 Fall Creators Update[1] (also known as version 1709 and codenamed "Redstone 3") is the fourth major update to Windows 10 and the third in a series of updates under the Redstone codenames. It carries the build number 10.0.16299.


If that doesn't work, you could always try the old fashioned way and see if it still throws the error when you go through the GUI to activate the license. If it does, then you know there might be a problem with windows and you may need to reset it or repair it.


The following issue(s) may occur when you try to install the Windows 10 Update 1709, also known as 'Fall Creators Update': The Update fails to install or the update downloading procedure is stuck. In this tutorial you 'll find instructions on how to resolve the following issues when downloading or installing the Windows 10 Fall Creators Update 1709:


Issue No2: After checking for new updates, Windows is starting to download the Fall Creators Update for Windows 10 version 1709, but during the Downloading Updates operation, is stuck at xx% (e.g. at 85% or 99%) with error 0x80d02002.


The next method, to resolve the issues while downloading or installing the Windows 10 Fall Creators update 1709, is to download and install the update using the "Windows Update Assistant": To do that:


Had to contact Microsoft Support. They had to ghost onto my computer, uninstall updates and then get my computer to take the Critical Update 1803. It was the only thing that worked. Critical Update 1709 has a major issue which with Updates. Took hours and Support was really good about calling me back and checking on the progress and then testing my computer after the install processed.


Like you I went through a nightmare. Not sure if you tried this. I have a Dell Latitude E5430 laptop. I disconnected my Wifi / WLAN card from the motherboard and connected an ethernet cable to the port and upgraded to the 1709 version.


My install got stuck at 45 or 46% all the time. I decided to reinstall, but even after reinstalling Windows cleanly, I still had boot problems. Then, I started removing hardware from my desktop and found that the problem was caused by an Asus Wifi card (WN7601R). Apparently, some kind of problem was introduced in the driver for this thing in Win10 1709.


I was using a secure Wi-Fi hotspot when the 1709 update started downloading. After 20-30 minutes it finally reached 100%, then began another downloading process. Since I had to leave, and the screen said not to turn off the computer (and Ctrl-Alt-Del wouldn't work), I carried my open laptop to my car then drove home, where I have no internet access of any kind. I left my laptop open, and after 2.5 hours of repeated restarts, my desktop reappeared and the update history showed the 1709 update as successful. So the trick seems to be to remove your computer from internet connection after the first 100% download (?).


Prior to that, I had tried other fixes: metered connection, hide updates troubleshooter, task orchestrator, etc., which blocked the 1709 update for about 2 weeks, then it reappeared in my updates-read-to-install list.


I just spent 2 days fixing this issue on my Asus CP6230 desktop pc. Now that the 1607 version is unsupported(end of Mar 18), Windows will not stop trying to replace it. Plainly all the versions after 1607 had never worked with my pc. I tried all the offline install procedures and they did not work. In my case the 1709 update downloaded and installed ok. Then, when rebooted, it froze at about 80%. I then had to turn-off the pc and when it came back up it did a few reboots before "Reverting to previous version" (1607). Anyway, I downloaded the "wushowhide.diagcab" tool from Microsoft and used it to disable all of the driver updates. I also pulled out my Anatel/ASUS/Realtek WiFi card and used a cable connection instead (someone on the web mentioned that the WiFi card was a probable cause). The result was that the 1709 "Fall" update then finally succeeded. I'm not sure which driver actually caused the issue. I do not have the patience to track it down!!


Thanks for pointing out to the WIFI Card. I have a Gateway computer. I tried everything to update to 1709, but nothing worked . I tried all the steps described here but I kept getting Windows update failing at 83%. Then I uninstalled wireless card drivers. The same problem. Finally , I physically removed the Wireless card from the computer. Voila !! The update completed without any issues. The WIFI card was the culprit. IWIFI CARD has to be PHYSICALLY REMOVED. After the update I put the card back in and everything works fine. Unbelievable !


The 1709 update killed one of my home PCs. It now is in an endless loop with message "Windows could not complete the installation. To install Windows on the computer, restart the installation". You click OK and it reboots into the same place. I haven't tried to remedy it yet. (Luckily it's not my only computer).I'm just now building a USB key with the installation on it and will try to repair it with that. Any other advice is more than welcome!


Time will tell, but applied 4 of 4 at top:* * * *Before applying the methods mentioned below, run first the Windows Update Troubleshooter from Settings > Update & Security > Troubleshoot > Windows Update.* * * *Ran process and "Troubleshooting has completed" showed:1) Service Registration is missing or corrupt (Fixed)2) Checking for pending update (Fixed)Will Try 1709 again, manually, and report


laptop acer E1-572G: updating AMD graphics driver to latest version (using the AMD automatic driver updater) and using Clean Windows Start ( -us/help/929135/how-to-perform-a-clean-boot-in-windows ) worked for me. 2ff7e9595c


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page